Main menu


Newgarden is the man to win at World Wide Technology Raceway (August 20 NTT INDYCAR SERIES Bommarito Automotive Group 500 presents by Axalta and Valvoline)

featured image

NTT IndyCar Series driver Joseph Newgarden knows most of the World Wide Technology Raceway. In five years, he won his Bommarito Automotive Group 500 three times. Back in his 1997, when IndyCar started racing his WWTR, no one has won the egg-shaped oval only once. Considered a short oval by IndyCar drivers, the track has Turns 1 and 2, which present a unique challenge as Turns 3 and 4 are different.

“You know, I love short oval races. I really do,” said Newgarden. “I think the World Wide Technology Raceway is a great track. It’s one of my favorite events that happens all year round. Confidence can be difficult, but as drivers we like the challenge of finding that confidence and gaining an edge over our competitors.

“I can’t remember each WWTR victory in detail. I remember the first race in 2017 when Simon Pagenaud and I raced hard. The only thing I don’t remember very well is the wins in the middle.We ran in the daytime in 2020 and we ran at night.This is a typical race weekend at WWTR.It’s a challenge either way.Solar’s Underneath you lose a little bit of grip but at night you definitely get more grip and if you slip a bit during the day you lose confidence in the car, one of the things you have to adjust the handling to the situation is.

“Sometimes you need a close, hard race to make a move or make a successful pass. There are no gimmicks, sometimes you have to force an issue and it can cause conflicts and flare-ups, but it’s also exciting to see it happen.You get it 100 percent in St. Louis .

It’s no surprise that Newgarden has a strong fan base in the St. Louis area.

“I have a lot of fans driving from my hometown of Nashville. You don’t miss the action, St. Louis has a fair amount of action, you get a great pit change when the tires start to fade, come early for the undercut, stay long for the overcut You get a lot of that in WWTR, it’s an interesting race from every angle.

“The entire group of facilities has been brought up to today’s standards. Beautiful track that is so much fun to drive. The whole weekend is filled with off track activities and other series on the track. and do it like any truck we go.

In less than a week, we’ll know if Newgarden needs to make room in his trophy case for a fourth Bomarito Automotive Group 500 Trophy.

WWTR Winner

kart world series

1997 — Paul Tracy

1998 — Alex Zanardi

1999 — Michael Andretti

2000 — Juan Pablo Montoya

indycar series

2001 — Al Unser Jr.

2002 — Gilles de Ferrand

2003 — Helio Castroneves

NTT IndyCar Series

2017 — Joseph Newgarden

2018 — Will Power

2019 — Takuma Sato

2020 — Race 1: Scott Dixon; Race 2: Joseph Newgarden

2021 — Joseph Newgarden


The NTT IndyCar Series brings the world to the St. Louis Metro East region. A true international series: America’s best drivers compete against men and women from New Zealand, Spain, Australia, France, Holland, Sweden, Mexico, Brazil, Japan, Denmark, Great Britain, Canada and Switzerland. They are the cars and stars of the Indianapolis 500.

Bringing the St. Louis Region to the World: Viewers in over 200 countries will watch the Bomarito Automotive Group 500, the final oval track race on the 2022 NTT IndyCar Series schedule.

Two of the most famous names in American motorsports, Mario Andretti and AJ Foyt, are still active in the sport today as team owners.

Presented by Axalta and Valvoline, the Bomarito Automotive Group 500 has produced many memorable moments in 2019, including Takuma Sato’s thrilling victory over Ed Carpenter. This was the closest finish (by 0.039 seconds) in WWTR history. Grouped multiple times: Josef Newgarden is his three-time winner.

Tickets and weekend experiences can be purchased at WWTR ticket offices by calling (618) 215-888 or online at


Friday, August 19th

7:30 am — Parking opens.

8:00am – Spectator gates open. The Fun Walk is open to Paddock Pass holders.

8am — Indy Pro 2000 practice.

9am – INDYCAR Garage and Paddock open for Paddock Pass holders.

9:15 am — Vintage Indie Show.

10am — Practice for the USAC Silver Crown Series.

10:45 am — Indy Pro 2000 practice.

12:00 PM — Practice for the NTT IndyCar Series Bomarito Automotive Group 500.

1:00 PM – Midway entertainment begins.

1:15 PM — Practice for the USAC Silver Crown Series.

2:10pm — Practice for the Indy Lights series.

3:15 PM — Practice for the NTT IndyCar Series Bomarito Automotive Group 500.

4:15 PM — Coors Light Pole Night Festival begins.

4:30 PM — USAC Silver Crown Series Qualifier.

5:15 PM — Qualifiers for the Indy Lights Series.

18:15 — NTT IndyCar Series Bomarito Automotive Group 500 Qualifier.

7:50 PM — Coors Light Pole Night Qualifier Awards.

8:00 PM — USAC Silver Crown Series driver introduction.

8:30 PM — USAC Silver Crown Series Gateway 100 (80 laps, 100 miles).

11pm – Track closed.

Saturday 20th August – Bomarito Automotive Group 500 unveiled by Axalta and Valvoline

8am — Parking lot open.

8:30am – Spectator gates open. The Fun Walk is open to Paddock Pass holders.

9am — Vintage Indie Exhibition.

9:45 am — Indy Pro 2000 practice.

10:15 AM – Midway entertainment begins.

11am – BMX freestyle team display.

11:30am-12:30pm – Indy Lights driver autograph session (halfway to main stage)

11:45am — Indy Pro 2000 Qualifier.

12:00 PM — INDYCAR Garage and Paddock open for Paddock Pass holders.

12pm-1pm – SpeedFreaks Live! (main stage mid-way) – IndyCar drivers will be there from 12pm-noon Indy Lights drivers will be there from 12:30pm-1pm

12:30-1:30 pm – Autograph session for INDYCAR drivers (on the way to the main stage).

1:00 PM — BMX Freestyle team display.

1:15 pm — Vintage Indie Exhibition.

12:30-2 pm — SpeedFreaks Live! Driver interviews mid-stage.

2:15 pm — Indy Pro 2000 Series race (45 laps).

3:15 pm — Indy Lights Series race (75 laps).

4:45pm – Driver introduction for the NTT IndyCar Series Bomarito Automotive Group 500.

5pm – 6th Annual NTT IndyCar Series Bommarito Automotive Group 500 (260 laps).

19:30 — Exhibition of the BMX freestyle team.

7:45 PM — Post-race track walk and victory lane celebration for fans (time approximate).

8:00 pm – Post-race concert on the mid-stage.

11pm – Track closed.

Schedule subject to change.